BCCI eyes domestic season to start from November 19, IPL players may miss first round cricket news

BCCI eyes domestic season to start from November 19, IPL players may miss first round cricket news

Let’s Start this Interesting Article Shared on DesiNew.xyz

(Photo Credit: BCCI Twitter)

NEW DELHI: The BCCI November 19 is set as a temporary date for the start of the domestic season Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament But Indian players in various IPL The teams will not be able to play the first few rounds due to the quarantine protocol in place.
The delay in the start of the domestic season due to the COVID-19 epidemic means that only the Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Ranji Trophy (13 December – 10 March) will consist of 245 games (in format with 38 teams).
There will be no Vijay Hazare Trophy, Duleep trophy Or there is also no provision for the Irani Cup as of the Challenger Series this year and now.
“This is a provisional list which has been prepared and has gone for the approval of the President. Sourav Ganguly And Secretary J. Shah, “a senior BCCI official told PTI on condition of anonymity.
Although it is a draft schedule, it is being asked that Indian players, who will return from the IPL, will play as they will have to remain in 14-day quarantine as per government regulations.
“This is mainly an issue for uncapped players, who will be with the team and would like to play some cricket. Now even a player’s team is eliminated before the play-offs, that is 3 November Before and will not return until November 17. will be in quarantine.
“Those whose teams are in the play-offs and can make it to the finals, they will have to miss the first few rounds in that case. But again this is a draft proposal and there may be some twists,” the official said. .
While the BCCI is hoping to host the next IPL in India, in late March or early April, it is imperative that they keep a three-week window between the Ranji final and the start of the IPL to help domestic stars get busy with the tournament. Will help recover later.
While there was speculation that the Ranji Trophy would go back to the zonal format, the official said it is out of the question.
“The basic idea of ​​stopping the zonal system was to ensure that there is uniformity in the competition. So we will proceed with the change in our group league format.”
It is learned that unlike the last two years, where the five teams with the highest scores from groups A and B, this year, the top two teams from groups A, B and C (group of eight teams) will qualify for the quarter-finals.
The seventh quarter-final team will be the best third-placed team (in terms of quotient) from all three groups.
The eighth team will be the winner of the play-off game between Group D champions (including minnows and rejected teams) and Group E (six North East teams).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *