In Khushab by-election, PML-N defeated PTI by 10,000 votes

In Khushab by-election, PML-N defeated PTI by 10,000 votes

Great lion call. – Photo courtesy of Twitter / @MoazzamSherPMLN

The PML-N defeated the PTI in a by-election on Wednesday in Khushab, Sargodha district of Punjab.

Unofficial results from all 229 polling stations showed that Moazzam Sher Kalu polled 73,801 votes to defeat PTI’s Ali Hussain Khan Baloch, who received 62,903 votes.

Thus, Kello’s victory margin was 10,178 votes.

In contrast to the recent NA-249 by-election, which saw a disappointing turnout, reports said the election was satisfactory.

A total of eight candidates stood in the race.

Apart from PML-N and PTI candidates, PPP’s Ghulam Habib Ahmed as well as banned TLP’s Asghar Ali were also present.

Independent candidates included Amjad Raza, Aurangzeb, Imran Haider Khan and Ilyas Khan Azad.

Source: Unofficial and unverified results

Earlier, during the polling, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had taken notice of reports of a clash between PTI and PML-N workers at a polling station. He directed the police to deal with the situation.

“The DSP Investigation visited the site and brought the situation under control. No law and order situation has been reported at the polling station,” the ECP said in a statement.

The provincial election commissioner had said at the time that voting at the polling station was going on uninterrupted.

PP-84 By-Elections (LR, Clockwise) Candidates: Sardar Ali Hussain Khan Baloch (PTI), Moazzam Sher Kalu (PML-N), Ghulam Habib Ahmed (PPP), Amjad Raza Gujjar (Independent) And Sahibzada Asghar Ali Tahiri (Azad)

On Wednesday, Punjab Election Commissioner Ghulam Israr Khan urged voters to come and exercise their right without any reason.

“Fool-proof security measures have been put in place and voters should abide by COVID-19 SOPs.”

Commissioner Sargodha Division Dr. Farah Masood and Regional Police Officer (RPO) Sargodha Ashfaq Khan visited Khushab District on Monday and reviewed the security arrangements for the by-elections.

The two officers visited the Returning Officer’s sub-office in Rhoda.

DC Khushab Musarat Jabeen and DPO Khushab Muhammad Naveed were also present.

The RPO directed the DPO and DC to ensure security and smooth conduct of elections throughout the constituency and ensure safe supply of ballot boxes and other election materials at the polling booths.

He also emphasized on the implementation of all standard operating procedures (SOPs) issued by the Election Commission.

By-polls took place in 229 polling stations, including 666 polling booths – 344 for male voters and 322 for female voters.

The total number of registered voters is 292,687 out of which 155,104 are males and 137,583 are females.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *