DesiNew – Daily Breaking News and Updates

Law in India (LLB) entrance exam

Let’s Start this Interesting Article Shared on

To become a lawyer in India, you must have a bachelor’s degree in law – Legum Baclaureus or Bachelor in Law degree, commonly known as LLB degree. The course is either a 5-year integrated degree or a 3-year LLB. The three-year degree is only for those who already have a bachelor’s degree such as BA, B.Com or B.Sc etc. from a recognized institute or university. Class 12 pass (10 + 2) candidates can opt for an integrated degree. This 5-year integrated degree, after completing a few specialized courses, BBA LLB, B.A. LLB, B.Com LLB or B.Sc. LLB.

Types of Institutions

There are mainly three types of institutions to choose from for LLB.

1) Public University Department / College

2) National Law School

3) Private Institute

Getting admission

If he wants to take admission in LLB course, then candidates should have minimum 50% marks in graduation. In India, mainly four / five entrance examinations are conducted to give admission in a law institute.

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) Schools is an entrance test to gain admission to National Law Schools. Some law colleges give admission on the basis of scores in the Law School Admission Test – India (LSAT-India). The All India Law Entrance Test (AILET) is another entrance test to get admission in NLU, Delhi. SLAT (Symbiosis Law Admission Test) is a test for admission to SLS, Pune. Apart from these tests, some states also conduct their own entrance exams to give admission in law institutes – government or private colleges.

Some popular entrance examinations conducted in India for law admission

1) Common Law Entrance Test (CLAT)

2) LSAT India – Law School Admission Test.

3) All India Law Entrance Test (AILET)

4) AIL Entrance Examination (Army Institute of Law BA LLB Entrance Examination)

5) Symbiosis Law Entrance Test (SLET)

6) BVP CET Law.

1) Common Law Entrance Test (CLAT)

CLAT is a national level entrance examination for admission to 22 National Law Universities (NLUs) in India for their undergraduate and postgraduate degree programs – LL.B and LL.M. The CLAT is organized by the Consortium of National Law Universities from representative universities.

Some of the NLUs considering the CLAT score for admission are NALSAR, NLSIU, WBNUJS, NLU, NLIU and GNLU. Most private and self-financed law schools also use the CLAT score for law admission.

2) LSAT India – Law School Admission Test

LSAT-India is a standardized test of reading and oral reasoning skills designed by the USA-based Law School Admission Council (LSAC) for use by law schools in India. (LSAT) is designed specifically for LLB and LLM admissions four times each year.

The top institutes that accept LSAT scores are IIT Kharagpur Law School, Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law, The Jindal Global Law School, Galgotia University Law School, SRM University, Amity Law School, UPES Dehradun etc.

It may be noted that Bennett Univerity accepts CLAT and LSAT scores for admission to BBA LLB (Hons) and BA LLB (Hons) programs.

3) All India Law Entrance Test (AILET)

National Law University Delhi conducts All India Law Entrance Test (AILET) every year to give admission to students for their five-year B.A LL. B. Program. The University invites applications for admission to B.A.LL.B. (Hons.), LL.M. And Ph.D. program. NLU does not accept any other law entrance examination for Delhi admission. 50% seats are reserved for Delhi candidates.

4) AIL entrance exam

The Army Institute of Law (AIL) entrance test is conducted and coordinated by The Punjabi University, Patiala. The Army Institute of Law (AIL) was established by the Indian Army under its aegis of the Army Welfare Education Society (AWES) at its interim location in Patiala. In July 2003, the institute shifted to Sector 68, Mohali. AIL does a five-year BA.LLB and a one-year LL.M course.

5) Symbiosis Law Admission Test (SLAT)

Candidates seeking admission to Symbiosis Law School, Pune and Noida appear in Symbiosis Law Admission Test (SLAT). SLC grant 5-year B.A. LLB, BBA LLB, 3-year LLB and LLM courses.

6) BVP CET Law

Bharti Vidyapeeth (Deemed to Be University) conducts General Entrance Examination (BVP CET) law for admission to LLB, BA LLB, BBA LLB and LLM New Law College, Pune for various undergraduate law admissions.

Universities like Delhi University, Aligarh Muslim University, Banaras Hindu University, IP University and other universities conduct entrance examinations for admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses.

Types of Lawyers in India

There is no such specialization during the course, although it depends on the person in which field he / she wants to practice. The follow-on specialization a candidate may choose for – Corporate Law, Criminal Law, Property Law, Intellectual Property Lawyer, Family Lawyer, Immigration Lawyer, Employment Lawyer, Tax Lawyer, Civil Litigation Lawyer, Bankruptcy Lawyer, Digital Media and Internet Lawyer and Entertainment lawyer .


Exit mobile version