Peaceful voting for 3 Rajya Sabha seats in Northeast, amid changing political equations in Manipur. India news

Let’s Start this Interesting Article Shared on

IMPHAL / AIZAWL / SHILLONG: Voting for three Rajya Sabha seats in several northeastern states took place peacefully on Friday with several precautionary measures in the wake of the Kovid-19 epidemic.
Given the changing political equations in Manipur, where the BJP-led government is on a sticky wicket after nine members of the ruling coalition resigned, the voting process was launched for the lone Rajya Sabha seat amid tight security.
Three of the nine BJP MLAs, who resigned from the primary membership of the party and the post of MLAs, did not cast their votes.
Four ministers of the NPP, who had withdrawn their support to the ruling coalition, however, exercised their franchise.
The lone AITC MLA, who pulled out of the dispenser led by N. Biren Singh, left the voting process.
Three Congress convicts – K Biren Singh, S Bira Singh, Surchandra Singh – were not allowed to cast their votes as the cases against them are pending.
A legislator who was recently disqualified was also barred from participating in the voting process.
All the legislators followed it Security protocol When casting a vote.
The arch rivals BJP and Congress have fielded the titanic King L Sanjaoba of Manipur and veteran politician T Mangi Babu for the Rajya Sabha seat respectively.
Polling for the lone Upper House seat in Mizoram lasted for about three hours, an official said.
All the MLAs and officials on duty had to undergo thermal screening.
The official said that at least two medical teams were deployed and an isolation room was set up at the Assembly Secretariat to handle security measures and deal with medical emergencies.
The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) in the state, the party’s National Core Committee member and former youth wing president K.K.
Vanlaveena received the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) general secretary (frontal in-charge) B. Lalchanjova and Congress spokesperson Dr. Lallinchunga has been pitted against.
However, Lone BJP MLA Drs. Buddha Dhan Chakma did not cast his vote.
State BJP president Vanlamahuka told PTI that the Chakma stalled the election process as the saffron party did not field candidates to contest the Rajya Sabha elections.
Chief Minister Zoramthanga exercised his franchise around 11 am.
In the 40-member Mizoram Assembly, the MNF has 27 MLAs, ZPM seven and Congress five.
In neighboring Meghalaya, Chief Electoral Officer FR Kharkongor said the voting machines were cleaned, and the legislators wore masks and maintained social disturbances during the voting process.
“The voting was conducted smoothly and no untoward incident occurred. All COVID-19 precautions were followed by election officials and legislators,” Kharkongor said.
Chief Minister Konrad’s Sangma, His cabinet colleagues and members of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) have exercised their franchise by the day.
The MDA coalition has nominated National People’s Party (NPP) state president WR Kharalukhi as its candidate.
The opposition Congress, which has 19 MLAs in the 60-member house, has nominated former MLA Kennedy Khairem as its candidate.
Earlier this year, Khun Hyunwetrep Rashtriya Jagran Andolan MLA decided to avoid voting in protest against Sangma’s support of NPP Lok Sabha MP Agatha in the Citizenship Amendment Act.
The election of the three upper house seats of the Northeast was required as the terms of the former members expired.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *