The parties unveiled candidates for the upcoming Senate polls

The parties unveiled candidates for the upcoming Senate polls

Federal Minister for Science and Technology Chaudhry Fawad Hussain said on Friday that the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had finalized the names of its candidates for most of the Senate seats.

In a series of tweets, the federal minister revealed that Abdul Hafeez Sheikh and Fauzia Arshad have been finalized as PTI candidates from Islamabad. He said that Faisal Wawda would contest the Senate election from Sindh while Saifullah Abro would be the PTI candidate for the technocrat seat. Abdul Qadir’s name has been finalized from Balochistan while Saifullah Niazi, Dr Zarqa and Barrister Ali Zafar will contest from Punjab. He added that the remaining seats would be announced later.

The Federal Minister disclosed that the names of Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Dost Mohammad, Sania Nishtar and Farzana from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa have been included in the final list while the remaining seats will be announced later.

Hafeez Sheikh, who is not a member of parliament, was previously an adviser to the finance minister and took over as finance minister in December last year. However, according to Article 91 (9) of the Constitution, he cannot remain a Minister for more than six months unless he is elected to a House. Thus, he must be elected to the Senate this time to continue as finance minister after June.

Nishtar, who is part of the cabinet as assistant prime minister, is also not a member of parliament and is therefore ineligible to hold the post of minister.

PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari on Friday posted a list of party leaders nominated for the upper house of parliament in a tweet from his official handle. From Sindh, PPP has given tickets to Jam Mehtab Dahar, Taj Haider, Saleem Mandviwala, Sherry Rehman and Shahadat Awan. The party has nominated Farooq H Naik, Shahadat Awan and Dr Karim Khawaja for the technocrat seats. Palwasha Shah and Khairul Nisa Mughal have been given tickets for the women’s seat while Rukhsana Shah Korang is the candidate.

The party has nominated only one candidate from Punjab, Azeem-ul-Haq Minhas, for the Senate elections. The PPP has nominated Farhatullah Babar and Yousuf Raza Gilani as joint candidates of the Pakistan Democratic Movement from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) and Islamabad respectively. In a statement, PML-N spokesperson Maryam Aurangzeb said that the party’s parliamentary board has so far shortlisted five names for the Senate elections. Advocate Azam Nazir Tarar will represent PML-N in the technocrat seat in Punjab. The party approved the names of Pervez Rashid, Mushahidullah Khan and Prof. Sajid Mir for the general seats of the Senate. He said that Barrister Sadia Abbasi would represent PML-N in the women’s seat.

Aurangzeb said that the names of PML-N KP would be finalized after consultation in the party’s provincial level organization.

JUI-F spokesman Aslam Ghauri said in a statement that the party had finalized the names of KP and Balochistan candidates for the Senate elections. He said that party tickets have been issued to Maulana Ata Rehman and Tariq Khattak for the general seat by KP. The spokesperson said that Zubair Ali and Kamran Murtaza have been nominated for the technocrat seats while Naeema Kishore and Asiya Nasir have been nominated for the women’s seats. Ranjit Singh and Hyman Das have been issued tickets for minority seats. According to the party spokesperson, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and Khalil Ahmed Baledi have been selected from Balochistan to contest the general elections in the Senate.

ANP Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has announced the party’s candidates for the Senate elections from the province. According to a statement issued by the party’s provincial parliamentary board here on Friday, Haji Hidayatullah will be the party’s candidate for the general seat from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. Similarly, Dr Shaukat Jamal Amirzada will be the candidate for the technocrat seat while Dr Taslim Begum and Asif Bhatti have been nominated for the party’s women and minority seats respectively.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday said that six candidates have so far filed their nomination papers to contest the vacant Senate seats on March 3.

According to an ECP official, two candidates have filed nomination papers from Punjab, one from Sindh and three from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. He further said that for the convenience of the candidates, the ECP has appointed five Returning Officers for Islamabad and the four provinces while the candidates can also submit their nomination papers on Saturday. Polling will be held in 48 seats, two in Islamabad, 11 in Punjab and Sindh, and 12 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan, which will be vacant on completion of term.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *