The Prime Minister formed a committee to discuss electoral reforms and amendments

The Prime Minister formed a committee to discuss electoral reforms and amendments

As the federal government is considering amending some important laws, Prime Minister Imran Khan has deliberately formed a 10-member committee of party leaders on the issue.

According to sources, Defense Minister Pervez Khattak, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Science and Technology Minister Chaudhry Fawad Hussain, Federal Education Minister Shafqat Mehmood, Amir Kayani, Saifullah Niazi and Federal Information Minister Shibli Faraz have been made members of the committee. The committee will meet the Prime Minister on a daily basis and discuss electoral reforms and constitutional amendments with opposition political parties.

Qureshi and Khattak have been tasked with bringing opposition parties to talks on electoral reform and constitutional amendment. The committee will also raise issues such as the economy, job creation, relief packages and subsidies and make recommendations. The government is also considering providing direct relief to deserving people in various walks of life through the Ehsan program.

In a related development, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser has written a letter to the parliamentary leaders of all political parties in the Senate and National Assembly to set up a parliamentary committee, which will bring electoral reforms. The Speaker informed the Opposition parties that all the political parties would be represented in the Committee on Electoral Reforms. The committee will be notified after the nomination of parliamentary leaders in the Senate. Electoral reform is essential for free and fair elections in Pakistan.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *