Three West Indies players dropped out of England tour for fear of COVID-19 cricket news

Three West Indies players dropped out of England tour for fear of COVID-19 cricket news

Let’s Start this Interesting Article Shared on

The West Indies named a 14-man squad for the proposed three-Test series in England next month, after three players refused to travel due to an outbreak of the novel coronovirus, the Islands Cricket Board (CWI) said on Wednesday.
The CWI said batsmen Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetimer and all-rounder Chemo Paul refused to travel to England on July 8 for a tour starting behind closed doors.
The CWI has also named 11 reserve players who will travel and quarantine with the squad to ensure replacements that are readily available in case of injuries.
“The touring parties, which will be tested for COVID-19 this week, are scheduled to fly to England on private charters on 8 June,” the CWI said in a statement.
“Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetimer and Chemo Paul all declined the invitation to travel to England for the tour and the CWI fully respected their decision to do so. As previously stated, CWI looked at future selections It will not take a decision against these players. ”
The touring squad is scheduled to stay and train at bio-safe locations during the tour and is scheduled to arrive in Manchester on 9 June, where they based for three weeks before traveling to Southampton for the first Test at the Ages Bowl Will be
The second and third Tests are to be staged at Old Trafford in Manchester from 16 July and 24 July respectively.
West Indies Team: Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Nakrama Bonner, Craig Brathwaite, Shammer Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Camer Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Ramon Reifer, Camar Rocher.
Stores: Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kean Harding, Kyle Meyers, Preston McSwein, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Ocean Thomas, Jomel Warrican


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *