Why 7 votes rejected for Yousuf Raza Gilani?

Why 7 votes rejected for Yousuf Raza Gilani?

IslamabadPTI-led government candidate Sadiq Sanjarani wins Senate chairman election against Yousuf Raza Gilani

From the upper house, 98 senators exercised their franchise today, of which 7 votes were rejected.

The 7 votes cast for Yousuf Raza Gilani were rejected as the ballot papers were not stamped properly.

The votes were rejected by Presiding Officer Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah, as the ballot papers had a stamp in the candidate’s name instead of the box next to it.

Shah announced, “These seven ballot papers have been rejected. He added that one vote was declared invalid because it was cast in favor of both the candidates.

The opposition challenged this result because the rejected votes were cast in favor of Gilani.

Sanjarani got 48 votes, while Gilani got 42 votes. Out of a total of 98 votes, eight were rejected, including one with a stamp on both names.

During the first half of the day’s session, the Upper House swore in 48 newly elected senators. Senator Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah was nominated by President Arif Alvi as the Presiding Officer and took oath.

Earlier, the Senate session began at 9 a.m. with the swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected lawmakers, while the voting process ended before 5 p.m., after which the counting began.

The PDM, led by the PTI government and the opposition, had closed the horns for the posts of Senate chairman and deputy chairman following disputes between the two sides, and secretly produced videos.

Following the March 3 Senate elections, the power of the House has been reduced to 100 senators and now consists of 99 senators, as Ishaq Dar is in self-imposed exile and has not been sworn in as a senator. ۔

The ruling coalition’s senators include 27 from the PTI, 12 from the Balochistan Awami Party, three from the MQM, three from Azad and one each from the PML-Q and the Muslim League (a constituency of the Grand Democratic Alliance).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *